No record found.

Department of Anatomy

The Department of Anatomy came into existence with the commencement of academic activities in the College on the 9th of February, 1999. The first Head of Department was Prof. A.O.  Okanlawon (1999-2001). Prof. Oladapo A. Ashiru also served as Head of Department between 2001 and 2006. The current Acting Head of  Department is Dr. L.C. Saalu. The Department has well-trained Academic, Non-Academic and Technical staff. The Department is housed in a bungalow building located to the left of the Administrative Block

The objectives of Anatomy course are as follows:

  • To describe and identify the essential features of normal human anatomy at the tissue, organ and system level;
  • To demonstrate with an acceptable degree of manual dexterity on the normal living subject, the position, extent and functional integrity of organs and systems;
  • To identify the position and extent of normal structures in radiographs, contrast Studies, air studies, angiograms, echograms and osteology materials.


Teaching Of Undergraduates

Lectures, Tutorials, Seminars and Practical dissection are given to 200 and 300 Level students respectively in line with the Anatomy Curriculum.

Postgraduate Supervision
Postgraduate programme in Anatomy has been approved by Senate. Postgraduate seminars have been held and Postgraduate Research has started in earnest.

Departmental Meetings
Academic, Technical and Administrative Staff Meetings are held in the Department regularly.


  • The Museum was created with models and Computer-aided interactive teaching.
  • Lecturing with Power Point and Multimedia teaching were introduced.
  • Histology Laboratory for teaching of students and research purposes.
  • Postgraduate departmental library/postgraduate seminar room.


Gross Anatomy: The study of human parts macroscopically that is, by dissection and other study aids.

Embryology: The origin and progressive development of the various regions of the Human body right from conception. Clinical and genetic correlation are explored at each level.

Histology: The Microscopic structure of various cells, tissues and organs of the body. This is done by sectioning the tissue-organ to produce slides.

Neuro-Anatomy: The macroscopic structure of the Brain, Spinal Cord and Peripheral Nerves and their pathways.

Through Lectures, Tutorials, Seminars, and Practical Dissection.

Students are assessed on a continuous basis with one in-course examination at the end of every semester. All in-course assessments make up 30% of the final First Professional Examination in Anatomy which is taken at the end of the course.
The First (1st) Professional Examination in Anatomy consists of four parts Multiple Choice Questions (MCQ), Essay, Practical Examination and ViVa Voce

Seventy-five percent (75%) attendance shall be allowed for students to be signed up for the First (1st) Professional Examination in Anatomy. Acceptance of absence from class shall only be based on a medical report duly signed by authorized medical personnel. This is in compliance with University guidelines.

News Update