Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Dr Adesina O. Adewale
(B.Ch D , FMCDS)
Ag. HOD Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is an internationally recognized speciality treating the cranio-maxillofacial complex (mouth, jaws ,face, skull) and its associated is a branch of Dentistry that overtime slowly evolved from oral surgery.
The Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Department, Lagos State University Teaching Hospital started as part of the dental center in 2012, prior to this it has involved in the training of residents since 2007. Since then we have moved from having one resident to the present four resident undergoing training in the department.
Over the years the training has incorporated specialised procedures carried out in other specialities like plastic surgery, orthopaedic surgery and otorhinolaryngology.
This has culminated in the neccessity for additional training programme like 1-2years fellowship in:

  • Head and Neck cancer –Microvascular reconstruction
  • Cranio-maxillofacial Surgery
  • Facial cosmetic surgery
Today, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon is a regional specialist surgeon with greater responsibility.

To be a center of excellence in providing Oral and Maxillofacial expert care and training specialist, with special emphasis on research for the advancement of the speciality.


  • To provide a foundation for professional knowledge associated with surgical skills enabling resident doctors and students to diagnose and treat diseases of the oral-facial complex
  • To ensure that patients get optimal treatment of the disease of the facial complex ..
  • To conduct cutting edge research resulting in the high quality publications in scientific journals.

News Update