Department of Restorative Medicine

Dr. Awotile Adenike Ololade
Ag. HOD Restorative Dentistry

The purpose of any academic department is the positive transformation of the behaviors of students in terms of acquisition of knowledge, skills and attitudes. In order to achieve the desired results, objectives are clearly stated for each course to serve as measures of control and evaluation; and the goals of the Department of Restorative Dentistry are congruent with the goals of the Lagos State University College of Medicine as contained in the current medical and dental curricula. The Department of Restorative Dentistry offers pre-doctoral comprehensive and integrated modular courses in the following discipline:

  • Conservative dentistry which comprises operative dentistry, fixed prosthodontics and endodontics,
  • Removable prosthodontics; and
  • Science of dental materials
These disciplines are taught and learnt through series of lectures, seminars, laboratory exercises and clinical experiences to perform several skill assessments. Evaluations are designed to develop competence, confidence and knowledge in clinical restorative dentistry. On the successful completion of the requisite experiences and evaluations, students will be prepared to face competency examination. After successful completion of the competency examination, students will be provided with the opportunity to treat patients more independently in Advanced Restorative Dentistry.

To produce dentists of high standard who can function effectively and globally in all aspects of restorative dentistry.

The mission of the department is to train dentists of high quality who will be able to provide qualitative prosthetic and conservative treatments for patients; and possess excellent academic and clinical skills of international standards.

The department is of high relevance in the training of high quality dentists since its programme of training constitute the cornerstone of dental education. In actual fact, the academic and clinical programmes of the department have been referred to as the “bread and butter” of dentistry; thus emphasizing the impact and importance of the department on dental training.


  • The overall goal of the department is to develop academic and clinical programmes of excellence in teaching, research and services (patient care) compatible with the programmes of all other departments and the general philosophy of the Faculty of Dentistry and the Lagos State University College of Medicine..
  • To assemble a departmental faculty of excellence in the specialties of conservative dentistry, prosthetic dentistry and science of dental materials.
  • To prepare dentists for leadership role in the health team so that they can work harmoniously with dental nurses, therapists, technicians, technologists and other members of the team.
  • To develop and maintain adequate physical facilities to produce a minimum of ten (10) dentists annually.

  • . To continue to attract highly rated undergraduate students to join the departmental faculty for subsequent postgraduate training in Restorative Dentistry in the nearest future.

  • To produce high quality dentists who will eventually become specialists and teachers in Restorative Dentistry for employment by other dental schools.

At the end of the training in Restorative Dentistry, a student should be able to:

  • Recognize the need for intra-coronal restorations, crowns and endodontic treatments, cut a cavity and restore the prepared cavity with a plastic restorative material within one and half hours; provide a patient with a crown and complete an uncomplicated endodontic case in not more than three to four visits..
  • Recognize the need, or otherwise, to replace missing tooth or teeth, and select appropriate prosthesis. Should a fixed prosthesis (bridge) be indicated, the student should be able to name and design the type of prosthesis to be used; he or she should be able to provide a patient with simple bridge in three to four visits. Should a removable prosthesis to be indicated; the student should be able to name and design the type of removable prosthesis to be used; he or she should also be able to provide a patient with a simple plastic partial or complete denture or a cobalt-chromium denture in three to five visits.
  • Appreciate the need for correct contouring and harmonious occlusal relationship of restorations.
  • Explain the contemplated restorative treatment to his or her patient.

  • . Communicate to his or her patient and community on the measures that should be taken to minimize the need for restorative dental treatment as well as maintenance of dental restorations both fixed and removable prostheses..

  • Critically evaluate clinical and laboratory procedures and journal articles in Restorative Dentistry.

  • Relate Restorative Dentistry to other branches of Dentistry and Medicine.

News Update