Department of Behavioural Medicine

Dr. Coker Ayodele Olurotimi
Ag. HOD. Behavioural Medicine

Department of Behavioural Medicine

To be the leading department in the country providing quality mental health training (at the undergraduate and postgraduate levels), innovative and cutting edge research, policy development and provision of community based healthcare services.

Our mission is to engage in a broad spectrum of psychiatric education, research and clinical services of the highest quality through (1) a commitment to excellence; (2) a continuous search for new knowledge; (3) sensitivity to the needs of patients, students, trainees, academic staff and the community; and (4) the wise use of resources.

Core Values

  • Training and equipping medical doctors with updated mental health knowledge and skills to compete internationally
  • Impacting the virtues of professional ethics and moral standards in training, research and practice
  • Delivering the best, affordable, available and evidence based mental health care to clients
  • To conduct multidisciplinary researches into the biological, psychological and social determinants of mental and neurological health in all age groups in our society
  • To utilise the results generated from the studies and other works to develop and advocate for evidence based policies that will improve the lives of persons with mental and neurological illnesses in Nigeria.
  • Serve as resource centre for dissemination of mental health information

The department of Behavioural Medicine became part of the Faculty of Clinical Sciences in July 2003 with specific responsibility of teaching behavioural sciences and clinical psychiatry to medical students.

The department has highly qualified lecturers including a Clinical Psychologist. The department has its own ward at the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja. The ward has 15 beds where patients with acute psychiatric disorders are admitted for short term care, management and rehabilitation. The psychiatric ward also assists in the training of medical students by giving general orientation on psychiatric management and Consultation-Liaison Psychiatric Practice. The department of Behavioural Medicine plays active roles in teaching, research and the provision of Mental Health Services at the Primary Healthy Care level.

The department also has a psychology unit headed by a Clinical Psychologist. Medical students at the 300 Level receive lectures in Clinical Psychology before their junior posting in medicine; while medical students at 500 Level are posted to the department of Behavioural Medicine for a period of four weeks. For the duration of their posting, they will be exposed to the objectives and contents of the department.

At the end of the posting in Behavioural Medicine, students should be able to:

  • Understand the interplay between biological, psychosocial factors, cultural attitudes norms and belief systems in the aetiology, precipitation and maintenance of human illness.
  • Acquire the techniques of interviewing patients and carrying out adequate psychiatric examination.
  • Recognize the importance of differential diagnosis in the practice of Psychiatry.
  • To review clearly and concisely modern Psychiatric investigations.
  • Understand international nomenclatures of psychiatry as contained in chapter V of the tenth version of the International Classification of Diseases (I.C.D -10) and Diagnostic and Statistical Manual IV (DSM-IV).

The Psychology Unit

Course Objectives of the Psychology Unit
At the end of the posting in the Psychology unit, students should be able to:

  • State the role of psychological factors in General Medical Practice.
  • Identify various schools of Psychology.
  • Identify and describe the mechanisms implicated in the following cognitive processes: Learning, perception, thinking, memory, and intelligence.
  • Identify how motivation affects behaviour
  • Understand the association between thought, emotions and behaviour.
  • Describe personality in terms of traits and types.
  • Differentiate between various theories of personality development.
  • Understand various schools of personality development
  • Understand attitudes, opinions and prejudice.
  • Distinguish normality from abnormality
  • Describe ways in which stress operates in the context of health and illness.
  • Identify the basic psychopathological mechanisms such as frustration, conflict and anxiety.
  • Identify the basic principles of the following psychotherapeutic approaches: Psychotherapy, hypnotherapy, behaviour therapy, cognitive therapy, Gestalt therapy, Humanistic and existentialist therapies.
  • The need for psycho-diagnostic assessment and types of psychological tests.

The Department of Behavioural Medicine runs out patients' clinics on Mondays and Fridays.
The New Patients Clinic takes place on Thursdays.
The Consultant Ward Rounds takes place on Tuesdays.
The Clinical Case Conferences takes place on Wednesdays.
Performance of procedures such as Electro-Convulsive Therapy (ECT)

The Department of Behavioural Medicine is also involved in the training of resident doctors who are on the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital's five-year residency programme. At the moment, there are three resident doctors undergoing residency training at the Department of Behavioural Medicine.

The Department of Behavioural Medicine also partners with Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) to reach out to the community through mental health community outreach programmes.

The lectures for students are carried out by means of classroom lectures, interactive sessions, group syndicate sessions, and the use of self-instructive materials such as text books, journals, multimedia projectors, Internet access and audio-visual aids.

At the end of the posting to the department of Behavioural Medicine, students are examined by end-of-posting in-course examination through Multiple Choice Questions (MCQ), Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) and Practical Examination (Orals) through clinical case presentations.

News Update